Words you cant unsay

H. R. NIGHTMARE

Don’t pout you’re 22

I never yell at work.
It’s not how I lead my crew. I prefer to lead by teaching, guiding and positive reinforcement, not by intimidation. Well, ever work with that one person you just can’t teach?
Yep I got one. This guy transferred into my store from another store. No big deal, right? Well here’s the issue: His old store had about 350 customers a week; my store has about 350 customers a day. When he wanted to transfer we all informed him that this was a much faster paced store then he might be used to. We gave him 1 full week of shadow training and advised him on the way stuff worked in our store. He has been here 5 weeks now, getting overwhelmed, frustrated and taking it out on others in the store.
OK, roll with it, let him know we all have to work together to get the job done. Well, when you are in my office, the front sales floor can hear you. I do not want the know about the rash you have developed on your ass because you walked home in the rain 2 days ago. I shushed him, then I shushed him again, then he went to lunch. He came back after a half hour and hung around my office. When one of the other workers came in this ” the rash ” story started all over again. A little frustrated at this time. Asked if e was clocked in; he said no. I looked out in the store and when I saw there where no customers, I proceeded to yell at him “SHUT UP, NOBODY GIVES A FLYIN’ FUCK ABOUT SOME KIND OF RASH YOU GOT BECAUSE YOU LOST YOUR GOD DAM LICENSE DRIVING LIKE A MORON AND HAD TO FUCKING WALK HOME THE OTHER DAY. IF YOU’RE NOT ON THE CLOCK GET THE FUCK OUT OF THE OFFICE. NOW!”
Come to find out he spent the remainder of his break time at the farthest corner of the building away from where I was. From what I was told he was just standing there pouting that I got upset and yelled at him. When he came back on, he was amazing, fast working, polite to customers willing to do anything. Afterword I did say sorry and that I was proud of the way he turned the day around. Good job.
Apparently, he was informed that no one there had ever heard me yell at someone before so I must have been really pissed and he was advised to not do that again.
January 10, 2012 - Posted by | Mouth moves faster then Brain, real world | , , , , , , , ,

26 Comments »

  1. When are you going to write the “Don’t pout, you’re 35 post?” I’ll volunteer for that one.

    Comment by H.E. ELLIS | January 10, 2012 | Reply

    • I knew you would show up. Especially with a tag ” ass rash”. And I think that post would be great, its always nice to take a trip down memory lane. you can still remember that far back? Hahaha.

      Comment by hrnightmare | January 10, 2012 | Reply

  2. My mgmt style was very much like that. If I was to the point of being visibly agitated, people kind of worked a bit harder, for exactly the same reason. If I was pissed, there had to be a very good reason. The advantages of being laid back, it can actually be used as a tool.

    Comment by John Phillips | January 10, 2012 | Reply

    • I haven’t thought of it like that before. So its ok to be a tool every now and then.
      See Ms. Ellis its cool to be a tool.

      Comment by hrnightmare | January 10, 2012 | Reply

      • And what a tool you are, HR.

        Comment by H.E. ELLIS | January 10, 2012 | Reply

  3. It would be funny to watch one of you work for the other one. To me, I mean. You guys would be like Drizzt and Artemis, if I may be so geeked out.

    Comment by Edward Hotspur | January 10, 2012 | Reply

  4. Was that D and D Mr. Hotspur. Because now I’m looking for the book series.

    Comment by hrnightmare | January 10, 2012 | Reply

    • Yeah. Drizzt Do’Urden, Artemis Entreri, books by R.A. Salvatore, Forgotten Realms.

      Comment by Edward Hotspur | January 10, 2012 | Reply

      • Nice thanks. I’ll have to check them.

        Comment by hrnightmare | January 10, 2012 | Reply

  5. Argh some people just cannot be bothered but at least he changed.

    Comment by meganstephenson | January 11, 2012 | Reply

  6. It’s always more effective when the normally quiet boss loses his cool.
    I was the other way around. When i stopped questioning the zoological genealogy of my staff and actually talked quietly and coherently, that was when they knew there was a problem…

    Comment by El Guapo | January 11, 2012 | Reply

  7. I pout, and I’m 30. What do you have to say about that?! HUH? Huh? 😉
    Anyway, I think it would be a blast to come work in your office…I’d work hard and everything.

    Comment by sparklebumps | January 11, 2012 | Reply

    • If you worked in my office hun, there would definitely be a rise in
      .
      .
      moral. 😉
      Besides you dont listen I get to spray water at you. And my uniform is white.
      30 and pouting, its fine sometimes, 22 and pouting after tryin to sound like a bad Ass. Not to cool.

      Comment by hrnightmare | January 11, 2012 | Reply

      • So what you’re saying is… you’d be working HARD too, eh? heehee!
        I loove getting sprayed… with stuff…

        Comment by sparklebumps | January 11, 2012 | Reply

        • Oh wow, all I need now is you to fill out this simple app.

          question 1. When can you start?
          .
          That’s it.

          Comment by hrnightmare | January 11, 2012 | Reply

          • As soon as H.E. shows up on her bike to get me there. She said I could ride bitch. Weird thing is, I think I have a tshirt that says that. Oh no, nevermind. It says, “Ride this bitch.”

            Comment by sparklebumps | January 11, 2012 | Reply

            • Deal I can have her bike ready in 3 days. With snow tires.

              Comment by hrnightmare | January 11, 2012 | Reply

              • Snow tires or ice spikes? Because ice spikes are cool.

                Comment by El Guapo | January 11, 2012 | Reply

                • Na, we gots no snow here… but she might need mittens.

                  Comment by sparklebumps | January 11, 2012 | Reply

                  • Please, please tell me that’s not an innuendo and I’ve just aged out of the range that would get it!

                    Comment by El Guapo | January 11, 2012 | Reply

                    • No, no innuendo. But haha! You said “in you endo.”

                      Comment by sparklebumps | January 11, 2012

                    • Well played, Sparklebumps. Well played!

                      Comment by El Guapo | January 11, 2012

                  • Snow tire’s for the return trip. Sorry I had to fix the response

                    Comment by hrnightmare | January 11, 2012 | Reply

                • Just snow not ice yet.

                  Comment by hrnightmare | January 11, 2012 | Reply

  8. that answers 99.9% off Goulats phone call….thank God i have protection…you scaryyyyyy!

    Comment by flynmayan | March 17, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

